Motörhead’s “Iron Fist” 40th Anniversary Reissue Out Now

Motörhead: Iron Fist 40th Anniversary ReissueMotörhead’s 1982 release Iron Fist has gotten a deluxe 40th anniversary reissue that the band says will correct the record on its importance. Their fifth album followed the monumental success of Ace of Spaces and No Sleep ’Til Hammersmith and was the last to feature the trio of Lemmy Kilmister, Fast Eddie Clarke, and Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor.

“Iron Fist was rudely dismissed by some ignorant loud mouth hap’orths as being ‘less,’ and has always suffered slightly from that initial idiotic disdain,” a press release states. “We’re here to finally correct that nonsense, as Iron Fist reveals itself as a vital snapshot of the band at a crucial period when they found themselves caught in the tornado ignited by success and, in true Motörhead style, careered into their next phase at such velocity it transcended logic or reason to become this trio’s final kamikaze joyride.”

The Iron Fist reissue comes in deluxe editions to include hardback book-packs in two-CD and triple-LP formats. They’ll feature a remaster of the original album, previously unreleased demos, and a full concert from March 18th, 1982. The concert even has some exclusive footage.

Check out Lemmy’s ferocious bass tone and snarling vocals on “(Don’t Let ‘Em) Grind You Down”:

Iron Fist is available now on CD, vinyl, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Iron Fist 40th Anniversary Edition Track List:

Original Iron Fist Album:

  1. Iron Fist
  2. Heart of Stone
  3. I’m the Doctor
  4. Go to Hell
  5. Loser
  6. Sex and Outrage
  7. America
  8. Shut It Down
  9. Speedfreak
  10. (Don’t Need) Religion
  11. Bang to Rights

Jackson’s Studio Demos October 1981:

  1. Remember Me, I’m Gone
  2. The Doctor
  3. Young & Crazy
  4. Loser
  5. Iron Fist
  6. Go To Hell

CD & Digital Bonus Tracks:

  1. Lemmy Goes to the Pub
  2. Some Old Song, I’m Gone
  3. (Don’t Let ‘Em) Grind Ya Down (Alternate Version)
  4. Shut It Down
  5. Sponge Cake (Instrumental)
  6. Ripsaw Teardown (Instrumental)
  7. Peter Gunn (Instrumental)

Live at Glasgow Apollo 18/3/82 (Previously unreleased):

  1. Iron First
  2. Heart of Stone
  3. Shoot You In The Back
  4. The Hammer
  5. Loser
  6. Jailbait
  7. America
  8. White Line
  9. (Don’t Need) Religion
  10. Go to Hell
  11. Capricorn
  12. (Don’t Let ‘Em) Grind Ya Down
  13. (We Are The) Road Crew
  14. Ace of Spades
  15. Bite The Bullet
  16. The Chase Is Better Than the Catch
  17. Overkill
  18. Bomber
  19. Motörhead

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts