Larry Graham and Graham Central Station Return with New Album, “Raise Up”

Larry Graham and Graham Central Station
Photo by Erich Francois

Larry Graham and Graham Central Station are back! The slap bass pioneer and his crew have just announced that Raise Up, their first studio album since 1999’s GCS2000, will be dropping on September 25th.

With guest appearances from Prince and Rafael Saadiq, Raise Up will include three new versions of classic Graham Central Station songs and ten brand new songs. Graham recorded the album last summer in France after picking the best songs from his touring sets.

“We’d been touring for the last couple years before I made my final selection of songs and put this record together,” Graham explained. “So I got a chance to see what works with live audiences. I got a chance to see what they like and what they want and what they react to. So this CD is a reflection of that – what the people want when we play our live show.”

Graham Central Station’s current band lineup includes guitarist Wilton Rabb, keyboardists David Council and Jimmy McKinney, drummer Brian Braziel and vocalist Ashling Cole. Fellow pop legend Prince lends his drumming, keyboards, and vocals to the tracks “Raise Up,” “Shoulda Woulda Coulda,” and “Movin’,” while Saadiq joins in on the closing track “One Day.” The new record is almost a concept album, living up to its name by including songs of hope, encouragement, and calls to action.

“I wanted to tell a complete story, with a great beginning, a powerful body and a dynamic conclusion. I want that story to be uplifting and encouraging, something to help people rise above whatever challenges they’re facing in life – whether it be personal issues or family issues or work issues,” the bassist added. “Everybody’s dealing with something. I want this music to help raise people up and enable them to overcome adversity.”

Raise Up is available for pre-order.

Raise Up Track List:

  1. GCS Drumline
  2. Throw-N-Down The Funk
  3. It’s Alright
  4. Raise Up
  5. Shoulda Woulda Coulda
  6. Welcome To Our World
  7. It Ain’t No Fun To Me
  8. Higher Ground
  9. No Way
  10. Hold You Close
  11. Movin’
  12. Now Do You Wanna Dance
  13. One Day

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. can’t wait for this!

  2. Baddest bass player out there man…

  3. friendly comment – guitarist is Wilton (not William) Rabb.