Muse Releases “Live at Rome Olympic Stadium” CD/DVD

Muse: Live at Rome Olympic StadiumMuse has followed up the success of last year’s The 2nd Law with a new live album and DVD. Live At Rome Olympic Stadium presents the band’s Italian performance on July 6th in front of over 60,000 fans as part of their Unsustainable Tour. It also acts as a musical snapshot of the band’s increasingly electronic sound, which lead singer Matt Bellamy says will be pared down in the future.

“We didn’t do a concert album for the last two albums, so we wanted this album and film to capture the best moments from those albums, but also capture some of the extremes of what we’ve been doing since we want to go in a different direction in the future,” Bellamy told Rolling Stone. “They’re extremes for us, but it depends on your point of view. I mean, experimenting with electronic music and experimenting with a softer side of our band and also opening up our connectiveness with the audiences. I think Rome really shows us connecting with the audience in a way we hadn’t done before, literally getting out there physically and touching them, grabbing them.”

A perfect example of the electronic direction the band has taken is evidenced in their performance of the song “Madness.” Bassist Chris Wolstenholme holds down the low end on the dubstep-influenced track with a custom doubleneck bass. Its top half is a Misa Kitara MIDI controller while the bottom half is a Status S2-Classic headless bass.

If you’re not into the trio’s newer stuff, don’t worry. They also play through their older material including “Hysteria,” “Knights of Cydonia” and “Supermassive Black Hole.” The CD version contains 13 tracks from the set. The DVD includes the full set with 20 songs mixed in surround sound as well as bonus songs from other concerts.

Live at Rome Olympic Stadium is out now as a CD/DVD set as well as digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Live at Rome Olympic Stadium Track List:

Audio Disc:

  1. Supremacy
  2. Panic Station
  3. Resistance
  4. Hysteria
  5. Animals
  6. Knights Of Cydonia
  7. Explorers
  8. Follow Me
  9. Madness
  10. Guiding Light
  11. Supermassive Black Hole
  12. Uprising
  13. Starlight


  1. Intro
  2. Supremacy
  3. Panic Station
  4. Plug In Baby
  5. Resistance
  6. Animals
  7. Knights Of Cydonia
  8. Explorers
  9. Hysteria
  10. Feeling Good
  11. Follow Me
  12. Madness
  13. Time Is Running Out
  14. Guiding Light
  15. Undisclosed Desires
  16. Supermassive Black Hole
  17. Survival
  18. The 2nd Law: Isolated System
  19. Uprising
  20. Starlight
  21. Stockholm Syndrome (Las Vegas)
  22. Unsustainable (Las Vegas)
  23. Liquid State (Dallas)
  24. The Road (The Film)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts