Neil Young Releases Live Material From “This Note’s for You” Era

Neil Young: Bluenote CaféRecordings from Neil Young’s 1987-88 live dates fronting the Bluenotes (his regular backing band Crazy Horse augmented by a horn section) comprise Bluenote Café, a new release from the Neil Young Archives Performance Series.

Performances by bassists Billy Talbot and the late Rick Rosas are captured on the set, which features songs from shows performed leading up to and following the release of Young’s 1988 album, This Note’s for You. Shows captured on Bluenote Café include ones played in Mountain View, San Francisco, and Hollywood, California; New York City; Cleveland; Hoffman Estates, Illinois (Poplar Creek Music Theatre); Toronto; Bristol, Connecticut; and Wantagh, New York (Jones Beach).

The set also includes the previously unreleased versions of “Soul of a Woman,” “Bad News Comes to Town,” Ain’t it the Truth,” “I’m Goin’,” “Crime of the Heart,” “Doghouse,” and “Fool for Your Love.” There’s also a 19-minute version of “Tonight’s the Night.”

Check “Crime in the City” from Bluenote Café:

Bluenote Café is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Bluenote Café Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Welcome To The Big Room
  2. Don’t Take Your Love Away From Me
  3. This Note’s For You
  4. Ten Men Workin’
  5. Life In The City
  6. Hello Lonely Woman
  7. Soul Of A Woman
  8. Married Man
  9. Bad News Comes To Town
  10. Ain’t It The Truth
  11. One Thing
  12. Twilight

Disc 2:

  1. I’m Goin’
  2. Ordinary People
  3. Crime In The City
  4. Crime Of The Heart
  5. Welcome Rap
  6. Doghouse
  7. Fool For Your Love
  8. Encore Rap
  9. On The Way Home
  10. Sunny Inside
  11. Tonight’s The Night

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Leave a Reply to Brock Landers Cancel reply

  1. rondo hatton

    Great document from this period of Neil’s music. Bonus: welcome break from the usual 10-string slappy-tappy wankery.