Sonny Rollins Trio’s “Way Out West” Reissued in Deluxe Box Set

Sonny Rollins Trio: Way Out WestRay Brown was a master jazz bassist that could carry entire songs, with or without chordal instruments. One of his most notable recordings of the latter situation has just been reissued on vinyl for its 60th anniversary.

Sonny Rollins’s Way Out West features the trio Brown on bass, Rollins on sax, and Shelly Manne on drums. It was taken from a late 1957 recording session from 3am, but you wouldn’t know it from the unbelievable playing from each musician.

The deluxe edition reissue includes two records: one of the original album plus a second of bonus material including unreleased tracks and dialogue from the session. Extensive liner notes are provided by Neil Tesser including a recent interview with Rollins, as well as exclusive photos by William Claxton.

The Sonny Rollins Way Out West deluxe box set is available now.

Way Out West Track List:

Disc One – Original Way Out West Album:

  1. I’m an Old Cowhand
  2. Solitude
  3. Come, Gone
  4. Wagon Wheels
  5. There Is No Greater Love
  6. Way Out West

Disc Two – Bonus Tracks from the Way Out West Recording Session:

  1. Monologue: You Gotta Dig the Lyrics (previously unreleased)
  2. I’m An Old Cowhand (alternate version)
  3. Dialogue: Titling “Come, Gone” (previously unreleased)
  4. Come Gone (alternate version)
  5. There Is No Greater Love (alternate version, previously unreleased)
  6. Way Out West (take 1, previously unreleased)
  7. Way Out West (alternate version)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts