Anders Osborne’s “Buddha And The Blues” Features Bob Glaub Bass Lines

Anders Osborne: Buddha and the BluesSinger-songwriter Anders Osborne has released a new album called Buddha and the Blues, and he put together a monster band to bring it to life. The group includes Southern California session greats with guitarists Waddy Wachtel and Chad Cromwell, keyboardist Benmont Tench, vocalist Windy Wagner-Cromwell, and bassist Bob Glaub. To further the record’s feel, Osborne recorded it in Ojai, California.

“Early on, Chad and I agreed it had to be tracked out there. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, and we needed to go out there,” he writes. “You can hear the influence. It’s played with a gentle breeze and tight precision. Cutting it in Ojai was crucial to achieving the right atmosphere. I usually write with a location in mind, so it helps me stay focused and guides me to craft a body of tunes rather than individual songs.”

Glaub, who is known for working with artists ranging from Rod Stewart to Stevie Nicks, provides the perfect old school tone for the album with sensitive bass lines that support Osborne’s vocals.

Hear the bassist kick off the laid back groove on “Smoke and Mirrors”:

Buddha and the Blues is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Buddha and the Blues Track List:

  1. Alone
  2. Fields of Honey
  3. Running
  4. Smoke and Mirrors
  5. Aching for You Love
  6. Escape
  7. Buddha and the Blues
  8. The One I Love
  9. Traveling with Friends
  10. Alone (Unplugged)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts