Robbie Robertson Releases “Sinematic”

Robbie Robertson: SinematicRobbie Robertson has returned with a new solo album entitled Sinematic that is a darker, more intimate look at the famed guitarist from The Band. It is inspired partly by the rocker’s film scoring for the upcoming Martin Scorcese film, The Irishman, and partly from the upcoming documentary on Robertson’s life, called Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band.

“I was working on music for ‘The Irishman’ and working on the documentary, and these things were bleeding into each other. I could see a path. Ideas for songs about haunting and violent and beautiful things were swirling together like a movie. You follow that sound and it all starts to take shape right in front of your ears. At some point, I started referring to it as ‘Peckinpah Rock,’” Robertson said.

Sinematic is tied together by two killer rhythm sections, with the majority of the tracks featuring the dynamic duo of bassist Pino Palladino and drummer Chris Dave. Two tracks – “Once Were Brothers” and “Remembrance” – have Reggie Hamilton laying down the bass with session drum legend Jim Keltner. Special guests on the album include Van Morrison, Doyle Brahmhall II, Frédéric Yonnet, Glen Howard, Citizen Cope, J.S. Ondara, and more.

Check out the album with “I Hear You Paint Houses”, featuring Van Morrison:

Sinematic is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sinematic Track List:

  1. I Hear You Paint Houses
  2. Once Were Brothers
  3. Dead End Kid
  4. Hardwired
  5. Walk In Beauty Way
  6. Let Love Reign
  7. Shanghai Blues
  8. Wandering Souls
  9. Street Serenade
  10. The Shadow
  11. Beautiful Madness
  12. Praying For Rain
  13. Remembrance

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts