Jennifer Hartswick Releases “Something in the Water” with Christian McBride

Jennifer Hartswick: Something in the WaterVocalist and trumpeter Jennifer Hartswick has released her third solo album, Something In The Water, which she co-wrote with guitarist and producer Nick Cassarino. The collection of songs tie together as a “tender portrait of the human condition.”

“We wanted to celebrate the human experience,” she states. “We wanted to write about all facets of love and life and loss and gain. There’s definitely an arc of someone’s life in this album.”

Hartswick, who is an original member of the Trey Anastasio Band, reconnected with her friend and collaborator Christian McBride for the project. McBride dishes out the bass for the whole album. (It’s also out on his Brother Mister label.)

“I was a fan of his since I was a kid, but our paths never crossed – until they did,” she told American Blues Scene. “We’re great friends, and he’s such an incredible musician. To have him in my corner is unbelievable. To call him a friend is one of the great joys of my life.”

The music easily draws on genres and styles from retro pop to R&B to the blues to New Orleans street beats. The bassist, of course, is solid in every sonic atmosphere and gets some time to shine throughout the songs.

His bass line takes the front seat on the album opener, “Only Time Will Tell.” The soloistic line is reminiscent of an ‘80s synth bass line.

And a must-listen is the Hartswick and McBride duo on Randy Newman’s “Guilty,” which is pared down in instrumentation yet brimming with feeling.

Something in the Water is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Something in the Water Track List:

  1. Only Time Will Tell
  2. Fairytale
  3. Two Way Mirror
  4. By The River
  5. Guilty
  6. For You
  7. Innocence
  8. Enamored
  9. When I’m Weary

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts