Joshua Crumbly Announces New EP, “P.S.”

Joshua Crumbly

Following his full-length solo albums Rise and ForEver, bassist and composer Joshua Crumbly announced a new EP called P.S., which is due out on February 8th. The musician, who’s worked with artists from Leon Bridges to Kamasi Washington to Bob Dylan, sees the forthcoming collection of songs as a postscript to ForEver, which he called his “letter to the future.”

“I was thinking of the stages of life and the experiences within it, even the stages of a day itself,” he recalls. “Most beginnings tend to be so youthful and innocent, but we can become so easily weighed down by the journey. I’ve come to realize that each and every stage is a beautiful one in its own way, but I find that getting back to a youthful outlook, taking steps to get back to the beginning, may be the way to enjoy things the most.”

The four-song EP features Crumbly’s compositions with collaborations from Samora Pinderhughes, Michael Rocketship, and Little Dragon. The bassist has shared the first song for the album, “Morning,” which her performed with Erik Bodin on timbales and Håkan Wirenstrand on lead synth.

P.S. will be out on February 8th, but “Morning” is streaming now via Bandcamp, iTunes, Amazon MP3, and more.

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts