Paul McCartney Opens the Wings Archives for “One Hand Clapping”

Paul McCartney & Wings: One Hand ClappingA new piece of Paul McCartney’s archives has been unveiled fifty years after it was created. In August 1974, the former Beatle and his band Wings went to Abbey Road Studios to film a documentary and record a live studio album that never made the cut. That project has now gotten an official release as One Hand Clapping.

“Filmed and recorded over four days and directed by David Litchfield, the release of ‘One Hand Clapping’ is a historic moment for Paul McCartney fans. Over the years, various parts of ‘One Hand Clapping’ have been bootlegged with varying degrees of success,” a press release explains. “Some of the material has also appeared on official McCartney releases. However, the June 14 release of ‘One Hand Clapping,’ which features the original artwork designed for the project, including a TV sales brochure for the unreleased film at the time, is the first time the audio for the film—plus several additional songs recorded off-camera—have been officially issued.”

It’s so cool to see the old footage. Check out the video for “Soily”:

One Hand Clapping is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (Apple Music and Amazon Music).

One Hand Clapping Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. One Hand Clapping
  2. Jet
  3. Soily
  4. C Moon/Little Woman Love
  5. Maybe I’m Amazed
  6. My Love
  7. Bluebird
  8. Let’s Love
  9. All of You
  10. I’ll Give You a Ring
  11. Band on the Run
  12. Live and Let Die
  13. Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five
  14. Baby Face

Disc 2:

  1. Let Me Roll It
  2. Blue Moon of Kentucky
  3. Power Cut
  4. Love My Baby
  5. Let It Be
  6. The Long and Winding Road/Lady Madonna
  7. Junior’s Farm
  8. Sally G
  9. Tomorrow
  10. Go Now
  11. Wild Life
  12. Hi, Hi, Hi

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. There’s no such a thing as a “poor” McCartney album. This is just GREAT stuff!