the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu
  • CAB and Bunny Brunel re-release Live at the Baked Potato

    Jazz band CAB, featuring bassist Bunny Brunel, is re-releasing Live at the Baked Potato next month. This 2-disc set features the band’s live performance at the Baked Potato, originally released in 2006, with Brunel on bass, Tony MacAlpine on guitar, David Hirshfelder on keyboards and Virgil Donati on drums. Track List: 1. Bass Ackward 2.... »

  • Classic Metal Show features Ian Hill

    Bassist Ian Hill, from Judas Priest, was a featured guests on this past weekend’s “The Classic Metal Show”. The buzz is that Judas Priest is working on a new album, A Touch of Evil: Live, to be released July 14 during the band’s summer tour. The album will feature 10 songs never released live. Rob... »

  • Metallica bassist Cliff Burton biography available

    The official biography of Metallica bassist Cliff Burton is now available. To Live Is to Die: The Life and Death of Metallica’s Cliff Burton highlights Cliff Burton’s career with Metallica and includes information on the making of the ground-breaking first three Metallica albums, Cliff’s short career and tragic death three and a half years after... »

  • Sara Wasserman debuts “Solid Ground” with Rob Wasserman & Christian McBride

    Sara Wasserman, the daughter of legendary bassist Rob Wasserman debuts Solid Ground, an album seven years in the making. Solid Ground features Rob Wasserman as a guest musician, along with Aaron Neville, bassist Christian McBride, Lou Reed, turntablist DJ Logic, Jane’s Addiction drummer Stephen Perkins and Living Colour’s Vernon Reid. Preview the album: Widgets... »

  • New Release: Kind of Brown by Christian McBride & Inside Straight

    Jazz bassist Christian McBride has released “Kind of Brown”, the debut album by his quintet Inside Straight. In addition to McBride, the quintet includes Eric Scott Reed on piano, Steve Wilson on sax, Carl Allen on drums and Warren Wolf on vibes. The album is an energetic acoustic jazz recording featuring seven original compositions, and... »

  • Ultimate Bass Play-Along: Geddy Lee & Rush

    Alfred Publishing is releasing another bass tab book covering the work of prog-rock master bassist Geddy Lee. The Ultimate Bass Play-Along: Rush provides faithful transcriptions and play-along tracks on an included CD. As an added feature the CD contains a play-along version of each song (without the bass) as well as the complete track. It... »

  • Victoria: a new live release from Arthur Kell

    Bassist and composer Arthur Kell has released a new album, Victoria / Live in Germany on Brooklyn Jazz Underground Records. The album features Loren Stillman (alto sax), Brad Shepik (guitar) and Joe Smith (drums) and was recorded live in Cologne and Karlsruhe (Germany) in May 2008. Kell has been around the New York jazz scene... »

  • Get the latest bass news!

    Subscribe to the No Treble Update

  • New Bass Method Book from Todd Johnson: Electric Bass Technique Builders

    Alfred Music has released Electric Bass Technique Builders, by six-string bass pioneer Todd Johnson. The book and DVD set is presented in standard notation and TAB for all exercises, which include supportive fingering, string skipping, shifting and ghost notes, as well as controlling the shape, attach, decay, and articulation of the notes you play. Todd... »

  • Squarepusher: Solo Electric Bass 1

    Squarepusher will be releasing Solo Electric Bass 1 on August 17th 2009 via Warp records. This highly limited release is a collection of unedited live recordings of original compositions by Squarepusher. Squarepusher is the stage name for electronic music artist Tom Jenkinson, who performs drum and bass electronic music, with a significant jazz influence. The... »

  • Mimi Jones debut album: A New Day

    Mimi Jones, a talented bassist, vocalist and composer, will release her debut album A New Day with an eclectic mix of compositions that blend across musical genres. The album hits the streets on September 15th, 2009 and features Mimi Jones (voice, bass), Miki Hayama (piano, wurlitzer and keys), Marvin Sewell (guitar), Marcus Gilmore (drums), with... »