the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu
  • Armistice, the new release from Mutemath

    Mutemath has released their new album, Armistice, featuring bassist Roy Mitchell-Cardenas. From a recent review by Soul Audio: “Roy Mitchell-Cardenas turns in bass work that’s nothing less than stellar throughout the whole album, handling the pop oriented songs with economy and taste and the rock/indie parts with intelligence and enthusiasm. His bass playing percolates and... »

  • Christian Grizzard: Space Artist

    Bassist Christian Grizzard has released a new album, entitled Space Artist. The album is available as a free download at The Electric Experiment web site. The 10-track album is all instrumental and was produced at light-speed. “I wrote the songs in 3 days and we recorded them in 4 hours without a full band rehearsal,”... »

  • Steve Uccello releases Symmetria

    Bassist Steve Uccello has released his second CD, Symmetria, a 14 track instrumental album showcasing various bass instruments and featuring Kathy Uccello on mandolin on two songs. The album is enhanced visually by Joe Uccello (The Octagonal Aerie). Preview Symmetria: You can also see a video of Uccello performing “Golden” on his blog. Uccello has... »

  • Get the latest bass news!

    Subscribe to the No Treble Update

  • Freddie Washington: In The Moment

    We have discovered another bass gem for those of you looking for smooth jazz and a strong groove. Bassist Freddie Washington released In the Moment this June, his solo debut featuring a collection of groove songs mixing jazz, pop, R&B and gospel. Known as “Ready” Freddie Washington, he has played with Herbie Hancock, Michael Jackson,... »

  • Bela Fleck’s Melody of Rhythm: Triple Concerto and Music for Trio Live, featuring Edgar Meyer

    Banjo legend Bela Fleck teamed up with bassist Edgar Meyer and tabla player Zakir Hussain to produce Melody of Rhythm: Triple Concerto and Music for Trio, performed live with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra. The album will release on August 25th, and is available for pre-order. Fleck and Meyer have been working together for over 25... »

  • Rob Thorsen: Lasting Impression

    San Diego bassist Rob Thorsen should be on your watch list. He is a talented jazz bassist who performs both jazz standards and original compositions. He is mostly self-taught, but studied under Bert Turetzsky, Bob Magnusson, Rufus Reid and John Clayton, and attended the Musicians Institute in Hollywood. His latest CD, Lasting Impression was released... »

  • New release from Nick Oliveri: Death Acoustic

    Nick Oliveri, former bassist for Queens of the Stone Age, will be releasing his solo debut Death Acoustic October 6th, 2009. You may also know Oliveri from the bands Kyuss, The Dwarves and Mondo Generator. Oliveri has spent the last year in this home studio creating this album, featuring 10 tracks in total. Death Acoustic‘s... »

  • New Release from Muse: The Resistance

    Muse is preparing for the release for their newest album, The Resistance, on the Warner Bros label, to be available September 15th. Bassist Chris Wolstenholme gives his thoughts on TripleJ radio about the new album, the secret codes, involving the fans and the massive scale of some of the songs. You can get a first... »

  • John Goldsby: Space for the Bass

    Bassist John Goldsby is releasing Space for the Bass on August 11th, and No Treble got an early preview. Actually, I should say multiple previews… I’ve listened to it countless times already. You don’t want to miss this one. Space for the Bass is John’s third CD project produced by his own label, Bass Lion... »

  • New Release: Assembly of Dust’s Some Assembly Required

    Assembly of Dust has released their new album, Some Assembly Required, on Rock Ridge Music. Phish bassist Mike Gordon is featured on the release along with Bela Fleck, Martin Sexton, Richie Havens, David Grisman, John Scofield and Grace Potter. You can check out the song “Arc of the Sun” with Gordon on bass (MP3). Some... »