the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Eivind Opsvik Releases “Overseas IV”

Eivind Opsvik: Overseas IVNorwegian bassist Eivind Opsvik has released Overseas IV, the fourth album in a series he started nearly a decade ago. Entirely written by Opsvik, the album brings together styles for an eclectic sound influenced by the 1700s and 1800s.

The ensemble includes bass, drums, saxophone, electric guitar, and most notably, harpsichord.

“In many ways it all came together and set the tone for IV’s overall theme that draws culturally from the late 1700s and the 1800s. [It’s a] time period I’m fascinated by,” Opsvik explains. “The album is a new chapter in our continuing story and definitely different from the first three. It’s about energy and unique moods rather than virtuosic soloing and complexity.. On this record I was also going for a more raw and alive sound in the recording and mixing process. Perhaps the best way to describe Overseas IV is ‘experimental cinematic music.’”

Preview and download Overseas IV:

Amazon MP3:



Overseas IV Track List:

  1. They Will Hear the Drums – and They Will Answer
  2. White Armour
  3. 1786
  4. Silkweavers’ Song
  5. Men on Horses
  6. Robbers and Fairground Folk
  7. Michelle Marie
  8. Nineteen to the Dozen
  9. Det Kalde Havet
  10. Youth Hopeth All Things, Believeth All Things

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:


Share your thoughts