Eivind Opsvik Releases “Overseas Live 2002-2012”

Eivind Opsvik: Overseas Live 2002-2012Bassist and composer Eivind Opsvik has been steadily releasing music with his project, Overseas, for nearly two decades. Now he’s compiled a live album from the band’s first ten years. Overseas Live 2002-2012 serves as a look into the band’s live presence as well as its evolution.

Aside from the playing progression of longstanding band members like Jacob Sacks and Tony Malaby, you get to hear the influence of other NYC-based artists like Craig Taborn, Gerald Cleaver, Loren Stillman, and Dan Weiss. We also get an exciting look into the growth of the song “1786”, which appears twice – once from the year it was released on Overseas IV and once from three years prior.

Opsvik’s unique compositions on the album were performed between a handful of New York’s jazz clubs, the Molde Jazz Festival, and the Finnish Embassy. Get a taste of the album with this clip of “Silkweavers’ Song” performed at Le Poisson Rouge in 2012:

Overseas Live 2002-2012 is available now exclusively through Bandcamp.

Overseas Live 2002-2012 Track List:

  1. Redford
  2. Extraterrestrial Tantrum
  3. Dunes
  4. Peacetime
  5. Underseas
  6. Italian Movie Theme
  7. Punchball
  8. Indian Summer
  9. Silver
  10. Everseas
  11. Stranded
  12. Kapp Det Gode Håp
  13. Silver
  14. 1786
  15. Doggerbanken
  16. Hey Days of Hay
  17. Breath of Bark
  18. Ginger Rogers
  19. Robbers and Fairground Folk
  20. Youth Hopeth All Things, Believeth All Things
  21. Silkweavers’ Song
  22. Michelle Marie
  23. 1786

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts