Level 42 Releases “Sirens” EP

Level 42: Sirens EPLevel 42 is giving a nod to their past with a new EP entitled Sirens. The six-song album, mixed and produced by John Morales, is firmly rooted in the retro dance format.

“Back in 1980 and 1981 when we started out, we were very much a club band,” bassist Mark King told the audience at a recent gig at Indigo2. “[We played] smaller places than this and all-nighters. We used to put out white labels and people didn’t know who we were and stuff. I just really like that vibe. We’re just bring out stuff now that’s coming full circle.”

Underpinned by King’s signature slap style, Sirens offers up an early ’80s dance vibe complete with layered synths and sweeping violin pads. For a taste of the vibe, check out the band debuting the title track in London:

Sirens is out now in digital format (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sirens Track List:

  1. Sirens
  2. Too Much Time
  3. Mind On You
  4. My Independence Day
  5. Build Myself A Rocket
  6. Where’s Yo’ Head At?

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. wow. i’ve been a fan of level 42 since ’81. i bought their “the pursuit of accidents album” when i was a junior in high school. it is still their best in my book. listening to this new tune tells me they’ve still got it.