The Who Release “Live at the Fillmore East 1968”

The Who: Live at the Fillmore East 1968A unique performance from The Who is now available in a three-LP or 2-CD set. Live at the Fillmore East 1968 captures the band in New York City nearing the end of a long tour, but more importantly, the shows took place one day after the assassination of civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King.

“America was already a country divided; Anti-Vietnam demonstrations, civil rights disturbances and militant student activism,” the press release explains. “With this turmoil as a backdrop on Friday and Saturday, April 5 and 6, 1968 The Who performed two incendiary live sets at Bill Graham’s legendary Fillmore East on the lower East Side of Manhattan. The show is regarded by fans as something of the ‘holy grail’ of Who live shows equalling the legendary Live At Leeds album. The tapes have been meticulously remastered for optimum sound quality and will only serve to enhance The Who’s reputation as the best live act of the time.”

The album includes covers of Eddie Cochran’s “My Way,” “Summertime Blues,” and “C’mon Everybody” as well as Who classics like “Happy Jack,” “Boris the Spider,” and “Tattoo.” Bassist John Entwistle rips it up on the closer “My Generation”, which turns into a 30-minute jam to close the show with guitar and drum smashing.

Live at the Fillmore East 1968 is available now on CD and vinyl.

Live at the Fillmore East 1968 Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Summertime Blues
  2. Fortune Teller
  3. Tattoo
  4. Little Billy
  5. I Can’t Explain
  6. Happy Jack
  7. Relax
  8. I’m A Boy
  9. A Quick One
  10. My Way
  11. C’mon Everybody
  12. Shakin’ All Over
  13. Boris The Spider

Disc 2:

  1. My Generation

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts