Alex Webster and Cannibal Corpse Release “Violence Unimagined”

Cannibal Corpse: Violence UnimaginedDeath metal mainstays Cannibal Corpse have released Violence Unimagined, marking their 15th studio album since the band’s inception in 1988. It’s the first to feature Erik Rutan, who has been their producer, as a full-time guitarist. Even with a new member, the songs on Violence Unimagined continue the band’s unrelenting riffs with horror-inspired lyrics.

Cannibal Corpse is still on top of their game, and when V13 sat down with bassist Alex Webster to ask how, he answered that part of it was having Rutan on board and part is their continual push to improve.

“We really are trying to keep writing the best material that we can and I feel like, as we get more experienced, as the years go by, we’re becoming more and more experienced at writing songs,” Webster said. “So, as musicians, we’re going to use that experience to write, hopefully, the best material we’ve ever written. We have to move forward as a band that’s going to attempt to write their best album in the future, not be a band that’s already written it. I don’t want to be in a band where I say that our best years are behind this. That’s not what Cannibal Corpse is, we are really trying hard to make sure that the stuff that we’re putting out currently is the best that we’ve ever done.”

Check out the opening track, “Murderous Rampage” [warning: extremely graphic artwork]:

Violence Unimagined is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Violence Unimagined Track List:

  1. Murderous Rampage
  2. Necrogenic Resurrection
  3. Inhumane Harvest
  4. Condemnation Contagion
  5. Surround, Kill, Devour
  6. Ritual Annihilation
  7. Follow the Blood
  8. Bound and Burned
  9. Slowly Sawn
  10. Overtorture
  11. Cerements of the Flayed

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. MARK B