Mr. Big Says New Album Set for a September Release

Mr. Big

Mr. Big has kept the reunion of its original lineup going and announced it will release a new album in September.

Featuring Billy Sheehan on bass, the new album, …The Stories We Could Tell, debuts on September 23. The rest of the classic Mr. Big lineup — the one that produced the band’s massive early 1990s hit, “To Be With You” — is Eric Martin on vocals, Paul Gilbert on guitar and Pat Torpey on drums.

Mr. Big: ...The Stories We Could TellThe new record is the follow-up to 2011’s What If and the group’s 8th studio album.

“This new album rocks!” Gilbert says. “I love playing guitar, singing, and writing with Eric, Billy, and Pat. And after 25 years, I’m proud that we can make an album that is melodic, powerful, interesting, groovy, and emotional.”

…The Stories We Could Tell comes at a tough time for the band — Torpey has been diagnosed Parkinson’s disease. While Torpey drummed on the new album, the band will soon reveal the player who will handle most of drumming duties on the European/Asian tour supporting the new release. Torpey is expected to perform on a limited basis during the tour.

As you wait for the new album, which Martin says has a classic, blues-rock sound inspired by the group’s rock and soul idols from the 1970s, check out this Billy Sheehan bass solo from 2009, soon after the original Mr. Big re-formed:

…The Stories We Could Tell Track List:

  1. Gotta Love the Ride
  2. I Forget to Breathe
  3. Fragile
  4. Satisfied
  5. The Man Who Has Everything
  6. The Monster in Me
  7. What If We Were New?
  8. East/West
  9. The Light of Day
  10. Just Let Your Heart Decide
  11. It’s Always About That Girl
  12. Cinderella Smile
  13. The Stories We Could Tell
  14. Addicted to That Rush (Live — Exclusive Bonus Track)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Juan Vaca

    I’m so happy that Mr.Big is still making music!! What if…is a great album. Can’t wait to hear their latest! !!